Postpartum Take 2

I had another baby.

A year after our first baby, we welcomed another baby girl. It’s been a whirlwind journey. I had visions of continuing this blog after the first baby, but took an unplanned hiatus. I didn’t have anything to say some days. Other days I had so much to say, I was too overwhelmed to know where to start. Every time I tried I couldn’t find the words.

I wanted to express what it was like to be pregnant, to give birth, to become a Mum, to breastfeed and raise a baby while trying to beat ED into submission.

I hope to tell those stories from not one, but two pregnancies now. I made it through both of them without restricting or bingeing or purging. They were both so different and I can’t pretend that I was ED free entirely because the running dialogue in my head throughout reminded me that in the shadows it was lurking there, in the bright moments, the extreme joyousness, the overwhelming and the trying times, I was never far from it. Even now it dogs me.

I will begin again to speak of it. I will tell the story, the dark parts that I wish my daughters will never know.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Postpartum Take 2

  1. Grainne says:

    (Hugs!!!) so good to see you here again! Congrats on your second, and for making it through two healthy pregnancies despite ED. Xx

  2. anadancer says:

    Many congratulations! I really want to be a Mum one day, and you give me hope that it’s possible for an ed not to get in the way. Hope you and your family are doing well x

Leave a comment