On Dying Too Young 

My twenty year old brother held his best friend as he died today after a motorbike accident. Three of them had gone trail riding and his friend Ray, was ahead of them when someone turned in front of him. He died at the scene from his injuries, my baby brother talking to him and holding him. 

Suddenly life is put into stark perspective. 

Living so far from home, from my family, my worst fear is getting a call that there has been an accident or death. 

Today I thanked God that it wasn’t my little brother all the while remembering that Ray was someone’s brother, son, boyfriend, grandchild…

I wept for my brother who is too young to have buried so many friends already. I wept for his suffering, that I couldn’t take the pain from him. Twenty year olds should not have to watch their friends die. 

Tagged

9 thoughts on “On Dying Too Young 

  1. littlevoicetalks says:

    Xxxxxx

  2. heartlectics says:

    My love to you and your family xo

  3. Oh my goodness, I’m sorry. ((((()))))))

  4. Grainne says:

    Oh I’m so sorry. How heartbreaking. Xxxx

  5. she says:

    May he rest in peace and may peace and tranquility soon soothe the hearts of all those who loved Ray.

  6. meetmia says:

    I’m so sorry for the loss. Best of wishes

  7. This made me cry a little 😦 my boyfriend had a bike accident on the 29th Jan and getting that call was possibly the worst thing in the world. Luckily he only hurt his one leg and is one a lengthy road to recovery…but it happened just like you explain, a car pulling out in front of him. Oh gosh 😦 😦 Am sending so many hugs

Leave a Reply

