Disappointment continued 

So my “birthday surprise” from my boyfriend arrived today. It was my mum just as I predicted it would be. 

I’m so mad at him and of course he doesn’t see why and I look like an ungrateful bitch (also as I predicted). 

Who wouldn’t be happy to have their mum as a surprise? I love my mum. I always want her to come visit. My issue is the wrong timing (I was home a month ago with her and can’t take any time off work while she is here); the financial implications – neither of us have money; and the fact that my boyfriend is not giving me what I do want and getting us further from our goals not closer. 

I tried to explain to him that something this big needed to be discussed with me. He tried to justify why he did it. At the end of the day it doesn’t matter. He spent a lot of time and money on something that I didn’t want and now I feel like shit for not liking it. 

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Disappointment continued 

  1. Don’t feel bad because he didn’t hear your needs and desires. If you made them clear you shouldn’t feel guilty. While what he did is sweet, your point is valid… You just saw her so timing is weird. Unless he is bringing her here to pop the question idk why he would bring her out here. I know I only get fragments but it seems bizarre. Intent is good but again he is not listening

  2. littlevoicetalks says:

    Don’t feel like shit. Easier said than done, I know. But that’s a big surprise and entails a lot of change in normal-life if unprepared. I’m not surprised you feel as you do.

    He knows what you want. I’d start giving him a few home truths but then I guess why should you? It needs to come unprompted… Feel for you xx

  3. I think it’s perfectly reasonable to be upset, at least a little, to have company invited unannounced. Company is hard and takes a lot of time, effort, and sometimes money when you’re not dealing with mental health issues, even more so when you are.

Leave a Reply

