Heartaches and Mistakes 

It has been a hard week. After the disastrous conversation with my boyfriend on Monday night about our future, we argued for 3 days. He was out of town and all our communication was via terse messaging.

At first I think he hoped it would blow over with a few “I love yous”, but I didn’t let it go. I stood my ground and told him it needed to be resolved.  After the shocking realization that our relationship was not where I thought it was and that we are not on the same page, I laid out everything. I addressed our ongoing issues with his absurd situation with the 2 mothers of his 2 children. I brought up his behavior of avoidance concerning the problems and how it all negatively impacts my life and therefore our relationship. I was as blunt and as harsh as I could be. I asked him why he would imagine I would want to stay indefinitely, without a commitment, in a situation that has cost me so much. I went into a lot of detail to which he responded in defense, of course. After 3 days I felt that the messages weren’t getting us anywhere, so I filed them away and stopped responding.

My anxiety was out of control for 3 days. I wondered about leaving him quite seriously.  I even found somewhere I could go live within 24 hours of the fight. I thought about the inevitability of the situation and my boyfriend never changing and that I have the nagging suspicion we will keep revisiting this same conversation. I wondered about my repeating habits and behaviors in relationships. I am mad at myself for the commitment I have made; for loving, giving and trusting too much.

In the end I starved and binged and purged and drank. There were no answers. Not from him or from the bottom of a toilet bowl where I heaved up anger and disappointment.

He came back from his trip last night. He wanted to hold me and kiss me and tell me he loved me. I tried not to cry. I wanted to push him away, but in the end I didn’t. I didn’t know how to tell him that I am still hurt and mad and that sex won’t fix that.

The world has tilted, we have shifted and I am not sure we can ever go back. It seems to me that this will be the beginning of the end. I want to give him the benefit of the doubt that he will do what he promised, but in my heart of hearts I know he will fail me. Just like the ones that came before, he will be no different in the end no matter how much he tells me otherwise.

I told him the fact that a question about our future blindsided him so badly and derailed us this abruptly was more telling than all the awful things he said.

I canceled our long weekend away in the mountains. I shed some bitter tears as I wept over the loss of something I was looking forward to so much. I had longed for a romantic, secluded escape together because we have never had one. I had even fantasized that it was when he would ask me to marry him. I was so sure that I would be going home with a ring on my finger that it seemed a likely choice it would be that weekend. Given that I have been waiting since Christmas for a proposal and that he told me on Monday night he had no timeline, wasn’t going to give me one because he feels “pressured” into marrying me and doesn’t want to make a promise he can’t keep, it is obvious that I need to stop believing in fairytales. I decided that I don’t want to invest the money and time into a weekend with someone who is not sure how they will feel about me in a year. As I wiped the disappointed tears away I realized that I will be home in four weeks time and will have a month to decide what my next step is.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

