The Kidney Saga Continueth…

The long weekend; our first valentines day; a trip to a mountain resort: I end up in hospital – again. Last weekend was my fourth trip to emergency in as many months for the same kidney problem that no one seemed to be able to get to the bottom of. The boyfriend and I, (who are now living together for anyone who cares), took the kids and went away. Everything should have been perfect except I spent 7 hours on valentines day in the hospital. I was distressed until the nurse gave me a “bottle of wine” through my IV (morphine) and leaned on my bed to chat with me and cheer me up.

I followed up with my doctor and had my IUD removed when we got back to town. The kidney pain was gone within a couple of hours. It was in for 2 weeks when the first bout of kidney problems started. It took me until January to ask the doctor if it could be the IUD causing the recurring problems and she told me it wasn’t. I did more research online and it seems that many women have recurring UTIs with and IUD. Having fragile kidneys it didn’t take much to upset them.

The one positive, if we are counting it as a positive, is that I haven’t binged and purged in 2.5 months. Now I feel the urge to get back to my ED knowing that it didn’t f**k my kidneys up this time.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “The Kidney Saga Continueth…

  1. this girl says:

    *hugs* I finally got off antibiotics for my own kidney infection. I took three ER visits in 3 days before they even got me on anything. EDs fuck with our systems to the point where they didn’t even suspect it was an infection (and lab techs messing up results didn’t help that).

    Hope you feel better hun ❀

    • Sorry to hear that you have been going through this. Are you getting any better? I am ok at the moment but nervous now that I am not on any antibiotics anymore. Keep me posted and I hope you feel better too xx

  2. K says:

    Hello my Love,

    Wow has it ever been a long time! So glad to get back in touch again πŸ™‚

    I am sorry to hear about your kidney problems and I am so perplexed by this UTI-IUD relationship. I have never heard of such a thing! I will definitely look in to it. They involve two completely separate systems and I would really love to learn the pathophysiology behind this if there is such a correlation.

    As for the recurring problem: can you refresh my memory? Was it pyelonephritis or were you getting any kidney failure?

    I am also so in awe and so happy for you that you have not binged and purged for so long! That is amazing! I don’t remember the last time I have ever gone that long. That is so wonderful. I hope to reach that point one day! But I have to ask because I am so scared: are you gaining weight? Do you really never feel like you lose control when you are eating? What do you use to cope with anxiety and other negative thoughts?

    As always, wishing you peace, love and happiness πŸ™‚

    xoxo,
    K

    • K! It has been so long…I have been awful at staying in touch. I am perpelexed by the kidney/IUD thing. I just finished my antibiotics 2 days ago so will see if it really was the IUD or if the problem returns now that I am not on any medication. The doctors say it is not possible for the IUD and kidneys to be related but I read a lot of forums (if it’s on the internet it must be true :)) and a lot of women said their issues resolved when they removed the IUD so I am trying this. I didn’t seem to gain much weight as I was so sick anyway and I kept up a bit of restriction. I still feel wrong when I eat and out of control and I think that being sick just put ED into slow mo for a bit. Lately I have been struggling with wanting to binge and purge again. Please fill me in on ALL your news. I hope you are doing well and taking care of yourself. Sending love back to you xoxoxo

  3. Unknown says:

    I’m so happy you have not binged etc for that long! I read your blog everytime you post something new, and I always find myself thinking of you time to time and hoping you can find some inner peace… I hope you continue to keep it up. πŸ™‚

  4. Congrats on you and the boyfriend!! I’m always thinking of you. Especially as I start my journey with my boyfriend. You inspire me so please know that! I do care that yall live together now! It gives me great strength and shows me that I might have a chance at the happiness you have!! ED be damned….

Leave a Reply

