A Day In The (Dysfunctional) Life Of

 

8am

Coffee, thyroid medication.

9am

More coffee, an hour at the gym with my foot in a cast.

11am

Celery and hummus.

1:30pm

More celery, more hummus, more coffee.

My coworker sits in my office and lectures me on eating (while he eats). He informs me that I will never have to wear a tutu and pink tights on stage again and therefore I should enjoy food. He mentions that I should get over my issues and I disagree telling him my demons keep me company.

“What do you want me to eat?” I ask as I shove celery down my throat and try not to gag.

“Bread,” he gestures with all of his Russian passion in the direction of my collar bones which seem to upset him. “It is so light; there is nothing in it.”

“I love bread so much. I dream about toast,” I confess like my soul depends upon it. It seems wrong to admit this; like I am betraying the wilting celery that is trying to nourish me.

“You need to eat some bread,” he is pleading with me now. “Good, grainy, dense bread.”

He is the devil. I shake my head as if to remove the picture of bread from my mind. He is always trying to get me to eat.

4pm

Dinner at a friend’s house: 4 plates of food, wine, cake. I sit at the table and start to sweat. Panic.

I will die of this feeling. I am out of control after restricting all day.

While they make coffee and dessert in the kitchen, I purge. The relief is instantaneous.

7pm

Fast food drive through on the way home from dinner:

2 veggie burgers, onion rings, 2 family size fries (to fill the hole in my heart where there should be a family). I sit in a parking lot as the rain pours down and I shake. I have found love on a Wednesday night. There is ketchup and comfort at the bottom of the brown, paper bag.

7:30

Purge, purge, purge.

8:30

Bubble bath and a conversation with my boyfriend on the phone: “I’m taking you out for your favourite Italian on Sunday night. Do you want to go on a picnic on Saturday? Maybe we could go to the mountains…I have some wine for Friday.”

I can hear the calories we are going to consume. I just want to lie in his arms and close my eyes and never eat again.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “A Day In The (Dysfunctional) Life Of

  1. It is great that you are posting things like this! It was something I had to do early in my recovery. Also, with the light of things going on and the whole “this is what mental illness looks like” it is great that you wrote this. It gives insight to the lives of us w/ ED’s.

  2. The picture you posted really made my day even though I know that’s not a good thing necessarily, ha. God, if I could count how many times my Mom told me to eat bread over the course of my ED. Just know you’re not alone and I understand (to the best of my ability) what you’re feeling. I hope things get better.

  3. I really enjoy reading your posts. Perhaps enjoy is not the word I should use, but I do. I enjoy the honesty and glimpse into another life of ED’s. It makes me feel like maybe I’m not so alone and batshit crazy in all of this. My dad is a feeder and I totally get how you want to claw the face off of someone who keeps trying to feed you.

Leave a Reply

