Dark Places

Dark Places

“If I have to be in this dark place in order to dance, then I don’t want to dance anymore.”

One of my students said this after telling us she was suffering from bulimia and anorexia. We sent her back home to Japan where her parents have put her into treatment. She was the most talented dancer I have seen in my ten years at this school. I wept to lose her, but at the same time I know she is in a better place than I was at that age. I wanted to dance despite the darkness. I knew that a career in ballet would mean a life lived in the enduring darkness of ED. And I accepted it.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Dark Places

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I am glad she is where she can get help, I am just sorry that this dream has such a high price for all of you to pay, and then keep paying.

  2. littlevoicetalks says:

    One dream sequence ends and another will open up. And whilst there is a process of grief, a process of renewal and liberation will surely take place.

    Hope you’re doing okay xx

Leave a Reply

