I Don’t Look Sick

I Don't Look Sick

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “I Don’t Look Sick

  1. Greta says:

    Hell, no one ever suspected me to having one either… 😦

    • Greta says:

      I did, hun. For all of those year I was not skinny enough to be anorexic or looked too good to be bulimic. I was functioning seemingly well. I had that secret world of ugliness all well hidden. I was scared to ask for help, scared to be rejected, misunderstood and abandoned. However one day I had no choice but to step out of it or die…I couldn’t handle it anymore.
      I hope you don’t ever reach that bottom, sweetie. Life is too precious.

  2. rheasofhope says:

    How I feel every day. I saw a counselor at my college for a year for my ED before she told me, point blank, that I don’t have one…I got diagnosed a year later. I hate stereotypes.

    • am so sorry to hear that. I always try and warn the unsuspecting faculty at the ballet school that just because a student doesn’t look like a skeleton, doesn’t mean that they are ok. I know from being a heavier bulimic that in my sickest years, I was so far from thin that I saw doctors raise their eyebrows in disbelief. I am so sad that you have had to experience this. Stay strong. xo

      • rheasofhope says:

        I am equally disappointed that you have gone through similar incidences with people who should be helping you instead of judging you. I am so glad, though, that you didn’t let their ignorance stop you from seeking recovery. Take care, and you stay strong too.

Leave a Reply

